CAYENNE – LONG RED SLIM

CAYENNE – LONG RED SLIM

~CAYENNE – LONG RED SLIM~

My Paw-Paw grew Jalapenos and these. I can remember the strings of dry Cayenne hanging on the walls in my Maw-Maw’s kitchen…so beautiful! We grew these last year (2011), and I’d have to say they were the easiest to dry…string ‘em and hang ‘em, that’s all I did. The Serrano and Anaheim chili peppers got moldy and found their way into the trash…but the Cayenne are hanging in my kitchen even now. As a matter of fact my chiropractor recommended I make a tea of Cayenne pepper and lemon. I was delighted that I had my own organically grown pepper perfectly preserved hanging from a shelf in my kitchen. I really thought the tea would be hard to choke down, but you know…it was really kinda good…like, I’m thinking of making me a cup now.

Very hot fruits average 5 inches long and ½ inch thick. Use fresh, or dry for winter use. Harvest starts about 75 days after plants are set out. CAUTION: Use rubber gloves, or clean hot peppers under running water, to avoid skin burn from the pepper juice.

Height:
18-24

Spacing:
12-15 in.

Spread:
16 inches

Sun Exposure:
Full Sun

Heat (Pungency):
Hot(30,000 to 50,000 Scoville Units)

Fruit Shape:
Tapered
Twisted

Fruit Size:
Medium (4″ to 6″ in length)

Days to Maturity:
75 days

Fruit Colors:
Green changing to red

Seed Type:
Open-pollinated

Usage:
Fresh (salsa, salads)
Drying
Pickling

Leave a Reply

